Poets logo

to stay or to go?

a poem.

By Skylar WhitneyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Like

funny how a song I

once belted from the

top of my lungs - 

pure six-year-old child, who

could have no 

proper comprehension of such a

way of feeling torn

between two directions - 

no clear indication as to 

which is the better option

of the two;

has now become the

most prevalent question in her

current state of affairs - 

should I stay or

should I go?

//

if I go, I might be in

peace - 

if only for a moment or two

but if I stay, I might soar

as high as this free-flying raven, who

on this day of wind, 

surrenders to an 

invisible force

where would you take me,

Universe - 

if I learned to let go and

released all control?

if I became a raven of my own, and

wings spread wide,

went with the ever-changing tide of

life;

what then, would you provide?

//

answers I'll never have,

unless I finally submit

but if there's anything I've 

learned in these

recent rollercoaster years - 

when torn between two choices and

not a clue of what to do

there's reason for indecision - 

likely, there's nothing you must do

but to have faith as you wait

clouds of confusion 

will be cleared, and

as they are

over yonder,

on the horizon, 

a third option will

ever so slowly

begin to appear

//

once it registers 

in your vision

all indecision will, 

in an instant,

disappear

tread slowly and 

lightly, my dear

your golden opportunity is

nearly here

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Skylar Whitney

Introvert at heart. Lover of journaling, free-verse poetry, and poutine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.