Poets logo

I showed you my soul

a poem.

By Skylar WhitneyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
I showed you my soul
Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

took it out of it's place

and gently into your palms

wide open, the space in my chest

missing a piece...yours to complete

//

isn't that how it usually goes?

well, I suppose, usual we weren't

for although I showed you mine,

you never showed me yours

//

looking back now,

I think I can see

the accidental times

you bore your soul to me

//

the times we lied together,

harmonizing to my favourite song

maybe it was your soul shining through

that night we danced in city streets

//

your soul wrote that song in my name,

I do believe

maybe it was your soul,

the part of you that was meant for me

//

unfortunately, it was not your soul

in our love, I received.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Skylar Whitney

Introvert at heart. Lover of journaling, free-verse poetry, and poutine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)7 months ago

    Nice✌️♥️📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.