Poets logo

To Jennifer, Who I Love

Written for a birthday card

By BananaManPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

For an age, I pored over my text editor

Searching for words that might rhyme with 'Jennifer ';

It was such a colossal mental expenditure

To find a suitable and well-chosen metaphor

That would raise her heart rate and temperature

And keep her with me ‘til we’re old aged pensioners…

But, sadly, I couldn’t think of any.

Perhaps I’ll have more luck with 'Jenni',

For surely the words must be many

That rhyme fully, or even just… semi -

But soon my heart grew heavy

So I slipped out to spend a penny

Because actually, I couldn’t think of any -

Even though I work part-time in a library!

So I think I’ll just start again-y.

So how can I express my love and desire

When I can’t even find the words I require ?

To explain you’re the only one I admire,

To tease you and set your heart afire

For the same flame consumes me, complete and entire

Like an ant beneath a giant magnifier,

And rocks me and rolls me, like a hot tumble drier

‘Til I’m lost and I simply have to enquire

Where I’m going with this because I seem to have digressed a bit.

So I’ll just end this ditty by wishing you "Happy Birthday", Jennifer.

Because I love you, all the way down to the, um, molecular…

love poems
Like

About the Creator

BananaMan

dty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.