Poets logo

To: Daddio

May 1st, 2023

By Sofia Loren PerezPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
I can still feel the warmth of your hand in this picture.

One Year-

It’s been rough.

Like your beard against my skin,

Loss embracingly pricks memories of you from my brain.

I can’t seem to find order in my Life,

Like how you could organize everything so neatly.

I find comfort in the chaos

Knowing you wouldn’t.

I still don’t see the Beauty you found and claimed in me,

Everyone agrees, and I wish I could hear you say it one last time.

Echos of your sarcastic and loving “babe” reverberates in my ear-

I’d buy a broken record player if I could transfer it.

I wish you could meet all my new friends,

But they’ve met you in every story I tell.

People don’t know our last name,

It’s too sacred for anyone to say, even me.

I don’t think I could ever leave Miami,

Because you’re here: in the water, sand and waves.

Sometimes I sit in the midday Sun,

To feel it kiss my face the way you did.

Abuela misses you,

And I’ve tried to take care of her the best I can.

But I know she can’t wait to join you and Arturo

On a cloud sailboat in the Big Blue.

I miss you too,

Not a day passes where I don’t remember something you’ve taught me.

Every other sentence starts with “my Dad…”

And sometimes you feel a little less gone when I do.

I carry you in my Heart, Soul & Spirit,

Daddio.

Everything I’ve done and has yet to come,

I know is through and for you.

To Daddio,

Thank you.

Goodbye,

See you soon.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sofia Loren Perez

Entries from my lifelong series: The Diary of a Biracial Girl. All work is my own. Find me on social media: @thesofloren.

"Through waves of insanity

Your solace rises in the East

And calms my stormy waters."

-Solace

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.