Poets logo

Nymph Dreams

July 29th, 2023

By Sofia Loren PerezPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
"Nymph Dreams" photography by Kadeem Barnett (IG: @kadreaming)

I often wish to be free from Society

And to live out my nymph dreams

Far away from others.

To wake naked under a great Banyan,

Curled in my own embrace

As silky grass kisses my skin.

My alarm—the birds with their incandescent poetry.

And the chatter of trees

As wind whispers mysteries through their leaves.

The Sun warms my body

From the coolness of night

Where I fell asleep counting the kindred stars.

When I rise, I bathe in the ocean

And melt into its embrace

As waves caress my curves.

I hang myself to dry in the mangroves

Like an egret--

Freshening from it’s morning hunt.

Mango nectar trails down my peaks

As I consume it’s flesh

Searching for forbidden secrets.

I watch the squirrels race through trees--

Iguanas sitting stoically

As bees play with hibiscus flowers.

The sun melts in the great azure,

And mix hues of crimson to blushing magenta

To create the day’s final masterpiece.

Then comes night--

Dolloped with twinkling freckles

To blanket me in obscurity.

My wish is for this cyclical routine

To ease back into Source,

Rather than live artificially.

The business of Nature

Is far more romantic

Than the stagnation of Society.

social commentarynature poetrylove poemsart
Like

About the Creator

Sofia Loren Perez

Entries from my lifelong series: The Diary of a Biracial Girl. All work is my own. Find me on social media: @thesofloren.

"Through waves of insanity

Your solace rises in the East

And calms my stormy waters."

-Solace

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.