Poets logo

To be taken at face value

& other assumptions of meaning

By Kay HusnickPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
5
To be taken at face value
Photo by David Klein on Unsplash

My writing won't tell you how I feel.

It will tell you how I might feel, how I could feel, how I definitely do not feel, the intrusive thoughts that just had to get out, the things I'd never say, maybe what I think you might expect,

but this is not unfettered honesty.

This is bottled rage, reminiscent longing for bridges burned, a manifestation of bits and pieces of half-baked philosophies on life.

Someone once used a poem I wrote to label my love language vindictive, but they forgot to think about the narrator and determine what is real

and what is just a good line for a poem.

list
5

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat7 months ago

    There is always a disconnect between the writer and the reader. The way each side interprets things is based on their own experiences. We should never expect a reader to fully understand what we are trying to say.

  • People are just weird. I hope writing this made you feel better. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    Wow, this felt like it was pulled from my soul. It’s hard when someone misreads what you write and tries to use it to their advantage. Brilliant writing!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! And writing can never be vindictive, you write what you write. Anyway, great piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.