Poets logo

To all the books I've loved before

Every genre, every page, every protagonist I fell for

By Holly PheniPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10
To all the books I've loved before
Photo by Matias North on Unsplash

Why do I write? Why pick up a pen?

Read on and I’ll tell you the reasons.

In stories and books I found mentors and friends

Who helped me through all of life’s seasons.

Fantasy was the genre of my childhood years

When my world knew very few cares

I visited Lewis and Tolkien’s lands

And daydreamed about living there.

Romance novels swept my heart away

Beneath moons of my teenage years.

I yearned for a prince, for love’s first kiss,

In real life, heartbreak brought many tears.

Early in marriage nonfiction came in

And helped me know “what to expect.” 😉

Autobiographies, histories, diaries

Proved we could face what was next.

Mysteries came to save the day

When my children were very small.

I joined secret ops on naptime adventures

While teaching my babies to crawl.

Tragedy struck and I spent sleepless nights

Turning the pages of horror.

Brave leading characters, page-turning plots

Made my circumstance feel less like torture.

That’s why I write – every page every word –

To talk to somebody like me.

Whatever you’re going through, you aren’t alone,

Just pick up a story, you’ll see.

love poemsperformance poetry
10

About the Creator

Holly Pheni

This page is for dreamchasing, adventure, and catharsis. Hope my musings connect with others out there.

Blog: flyingelephantmom.com

Creators I'm Loving:

Gina Jori Heather Dharrsheena Tiffany Babs

Cathy Misty Caroline Rick Mike Lonzo Scott

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is so relatable and inspiring and perfectly described. A very enjoyable read!

  • https://vocal.media/writers/lust-for-words-2 Just wanted to let you know I included this poem here ❤️🙏

  • Another great read and agin relatable! I think about all of the books that helped me survive my childhood and the characters I fell in love with. I’m inspired to write about this! Thank you for awakening a slumbering memory ❤️✨

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    It all makes total sense. What a great, fun and relatable analogy of the "why" Loved it.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    What a magical adventure of your life through books!

  • I relate to parts of this but in the other world All of this💯👍❤️ Thanks for posting❗❗❗❗🎢

  • Wow, all these different genres helped you through different stages of your life. Books are a real lifesaver and I cannot imagine my life without it. This was a very relatable poem and I loved it!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wonderful poem, Holly! I enjoyed learning your story and "why" and saw a bit of myself there too ❤️

  • Thank you so much for this insightful poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.