Poets logo

To A Lost Friend

Friends can break your heart too.

By Claudia SandersPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

My heart will always miss you. You read it like a book. With you there was no mystery no need for even words. We walked each other through a lot, the hardest of hard things. Divorce, loss, and sadness we gave each other wings.

For years we wondered what it might be like if things had worked out differently, if we had made a life. Our choices were so stupid reckless without thought. We crossed lines we can't uncross now we are lost. We hurt the ones we love the most including you and I. A romance for us wasn't written in the sky.

You were the one who knew me best, my hopes, dreams, and thoughts. Now I'm sailing all alone sad, confused, and lost. I'm torn between pain and memory. I remember all the good and pain comes flying by. The worst part this is our fault this mess without bounds.

I seen you just the other day and pretended to be fine. Reality is a differentale, but still I lie. Protecting your heart comes naturally. I don't have it in me to tell you I am broken. I know the pain that would cause. So I wear my pain like armor. Pretending it makes me stronger like I pretend that I am fine.

I can't let you know you hurt me, that this mtodayas scarred my soul. That is a pain only I should know. We must live with our choices, decisions we can not change. Decisions that left this broken disaster you see before you today.

There's a place in my heart you'll always have. I keep it deep inside where all my pain resides. It's been hard, life without you. A friendship like ours is hard to find. I'm sure one day I'll heal this hole you left behind. Until then I'll miss you never speak your name out loud. I'll keep you in my memory locked up safe and sound.

heartbreaklove poems
Like

About the Creator

Claudia Sanders

I am many things. I am a mother, wife, college graduate, friend, sister, daughter. I love the ocean, baking, my children and husband. I love writing and sharing my sometimes unpopular opinions.Some stereotypes were meant to be broken.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.