Poets logo

Tired Mother

Motherhood In A Poem.

By Hope MartinPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
A Starry AI Image

Nothing is better than their smile.

The tiny humans you made.

But at the end of the day

When they have gone to bed and are quiet.

You can finally let your tired bones rest.

They are safe and tucked into bed,

You can rest your weary, overwhelmed head.

The Tylenol has kicked in and his teeth have stopped hurting.

The girls have stopped wallering and singing and calling.

The silence is peace and the wine is cold.

Ice Cream on tap and a chocolate trove.

The things you enjoy all alone as an adult.

Because there is little room for the luxuries once taken for granted.

You appreciate the little things more than you know.

Being a mom is tiring to the bone.

((Today I was inspired to write this even though I had no intention to participate in this challenge. Today was a hard day. My kindergartner is homeschooled, and she had a tough day. My one-year-old is teething so he's very grumpy, and after a week of being snowed in my middle daughter is bored and missing her friends at Pre-K - and when she is bored she's mean.

I am so very tired. But at the end of the day, I couldn't live without them. They are my insanity and my joy. And so this poem came to me pretty naturally. I hope you enjoyed it!))

Mental HealthinspirationalFree VerseFor FunFamily
3

About the Creator

Hope Martin

I am a published author of a book called Memoirs of the In-Between. I am doing a rewrite of it, as it needed some polishing. I am a mom, a cook, a homesteader, and a second-generation shaman.

Find me on Medium also!

@kaseyhopemartin

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    I like the tired, yet strong tone in this, showing a mother’s fatigue but also wrapped up in love. “ You can finally let your tired bones rest.” says a lot! This feels organic, and I also like how it rhymes too. A lovely read😊

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Good on you. You sound like a very responsible mother.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I do love this! And remember those days so vividly, too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.