Poets logo

Tinted-tale of a Broken heart

An unfinished tale of a broken heart

By John IlunoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Tinted-tale of a Broken heart
Photo by Biel Morro on Unsplash

Tonight, I will write about my feelings

I will write to pour my heart

on the scrambled papers

of my shredded soul.

***

Tonight, I will write a sad poem

Listen to the words

as your tongue sings them.

Slowly let it choke you

as it moves down your throat,

And hold on to the thing

or person you cherish the most

***

Tonight and not tomorrow

I will give back the love that I borrowed

I will smile while my heart weeps

And I will let go of all the hope

I hold for love

***

Don’t you dare think that I’m jealous of you

Or that I envy the wind that caress your skin

I am only a scared lonely drunk

Who is afraid of the dawning of a new day

So, I am spending the few hours I have left

Talking, drinking, and bonding with our yesterday.

***

Be honest!

Do you feel like your world is ending

as mine is tonight?

Do you wish that yesterday is always our tomorrow,

and tonight was only a dream?

Or are you too focused on a new forever without me?

***

While you march into your new eternity,

Remember us!

Because, tomorrow, I will remember you

I will remember your bad cooking

And your best hugs

I will remember our summer jumps

And our winter cuddles

***

I will remember you,

And I will remember us.

Although tonight is my last

with you,

the only words

that lie on my tongue is

“please, don’t leave me”

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

John Iluno

I have a secret to tell: I write sometimes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.