Poets logo

Unfulfilled Existence

...the maybe(s) of my life

By John IlunoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Unfulfilled Existence
Photo by Melanie Kreutz on Unsplash

Throughout my life

From my morning oatmeal to my evening snores.

I have wondered if the words spoken by the wise ones were true

and if I would be the first to kill a prophecy.

*****

I have had my maybe(s) of yesterday

Like, maybe, I could have won that argument,

Maybe, I should have bought a cheaper garment

Maybe the universe has no end

and worst, maybe, I killed my prophecy.

*****

I have also had my maybe(s) of today

Like, maybe, it never gets warm in Indiana

Maybe, life is the hill best taken one step at a time,

Maybe the cosmos knows my name

and worst, maybe, I am killing my prophecy.

*****

And if God wills it,

I will have my maybe(s) of tomorrow

Like maybe, the poor will never witness just,

Maybe, our world is getting less safer for our children,

Maybe the moon will tell the sun of the evils of the night

and maybe, I will kill my prophecy.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

John Iluno

I have a secret to tell: I write sometimes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.