Poets logo

Timing

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
12
Image by vecteesy.com

After all this time, the stars have aligned and you’ve come back to me.

But for what purpose, that’s unclear, I mean I love that you’re here, but why now?

Confusion comes through, but what can I do with this?

Don’t you wanna know why you’re here?

Even if it was out of fear - of the truth.

Far out, I don’t know, maybe it’s just that my mind is blown.

Gotta figure this out, so that I can move out of this mindset - but do I need to, really?

How did you know to show up when you did, I mean seriously!

If you could just tell me!

Jokes aside, I think this got timed right when I needed you.

Kinda wish I could get the lost time back, though - so that we could start over.

Like, remember that time when we danced all night into the day?

Man, those were good days.

Nostalgia overload!

Of course…

People might question and say it’s a lesson of some sort, but should I listen to that?

Quick to judge energies within me make me scared of this synergy, but the impulse pushes me forward…

….right - in - to - you….

Slow it down, I think to myself, let it flow and go ‘round in the moment.

This shouldn’t be so hard.

Unless it is.

Variables are many with this, aww, shit, what am I doing?

Wait, don’t sabotage this, don’t quit before it even starts.

Xanax is maybe what I need, just to put my mind at ease.

Yeah, just go with it.

Zero in and just jump in - see where it takes me.

performance poetry
12

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    I enjoyed it a lot! Well done!🥰

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Awesome performance poem!!! Loving it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Delightful work! I really enjoyed this piece! Nostalgia is the best!

  • Heyyyy Jess! I was so excited to see your name in my notifications! How have you been? I only realised this was an Abecedarian once I reached Xanax! It had such a smooth flow to it and so well executed! I freaking loved it!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is so well done - every line had such weight and kept me going back and forth, just like the narrator. Amazing 💗

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is wonderful, Jess. Well done.

  • Yash Bhawsar4 months ago

    Awesome :,)

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    This was incredibly original, and I quite enjoyed what you did with it :) Wonderful entry! Also, I think I love your 'x' word the best so far :)

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Well now. Good to see you pop up in notifications, Jess...and this was an inspired piece! Great entry for the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.