Poets logo

Time To Color My World

It's My Life and I'll Use MY True Colors!

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 years ago 1 min read
17
Time To Color My World
Photo by Taylor Heery on Unsplash

Nine years old using periwinkle to outline a cloud.

There's dark green for a pine tree and- Stop!

I'm told I'm not allowed.

-

Clouds are not blue, they are fluffy white.

Tree bark's not green! I must know it's brown!

Now, once again- but right.

-

And while I'm at it, use bright yellow to make that flower

Daffodils are delicate and drawn just so

Said the one in power.

-

I tucked away blue, picked up brown for the trees.

Red for the rose, white for the clouds: and practiced anew

Until I could draw how she sees.

-

And that's how it started and stayed as the years went by,

I didn't protest or fuss, that just wasn't my way.

And I didn't ask why.

-

I learned I was wrong, learned to do as I'm told.

What I saw was not right, what I thought could not be.

Safer meek and not bold.

-

I went on like that denying my colors day/month/and age.

Seeing blue, saying white- saying brown, knowing green.

Until I turned a new page.

-

The life that I live- my time is sprinting, it's going by fast.

Why deny who I am, why hide the way that I see?

Time to break with the past.

-

I use all the colors now and draw as I please.

Lavender sunset clouds, orange roses rimmed in teal,

Pales leaves on green trees.

-

I'm no longer that child, cowed into doubting my way.

My life bursts in patterns, bright shades and rich hues.

True colors here to stay.

--------------------------------------------------------------

If this poem spoke to you please click on the heart below so I know it clicked with you!

You can check out the other things I write by clicking on my picture below. There are a few stories linked below that I think you might especially like!

performance poetry
17

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.