Poets logo

Through the Window

One Year, One Minute. A Lifetime

By Cathy holmesPublished 16 days ago Updated 16 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
72
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

It’s been one year since you left my world,

and one year since my heart left this room.

Every night, I look for you through the window,

and hope to see your smile in the stars.

The same window you crawled through in the moonlit evening,

the same one I escaped through to meet you on those summer nights.

You’re never there,

yet you’re always there.

Every day I think of us in the meadow,

the grass between our toes,

the sun on our backs.

Your hand in mine.

My head on your shoulder as you

scribble notes in your journal.

The breeze tossing your soft curls,

and giving me goosebumps.

Or perhaps it was your smile that gave me goosebumps.

Either way, it doesn’t matter now.

It’s been one year since I kissed you,

one minute since I thought of how much I miss you,

and in that space, I’ve cried a lifetime of tears.

sad poetry
72

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 days ago

    Oh 💔

  • Anna 10 days ago

    Heartbreaking and honest poem! Well done!😊 Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Silly computer froze… Love… ‘It’s been one year since I kissed you, one minute since I thought of how much I miss you, and in that space, I’ve cried a lifetime of tears.’🤩

  • So beautiful! ‘

  • Emily Binkley12 days ago

    Such an emotional and relatable poem.

  • Susan Fourtané12 days ago

    Touchy and emotional. It makes me think about my own feelings for a dear one who just passed.

  • Tiffany Gordon 13 days ago

    Beautiful writing!

  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story , I reread it ♥️

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    Congrats on your TS, Cathy. Remembrance can be both happy and sad. You painted a great picture of both! 💖

  • Grz Colm14 days ago

    Uh you little romantic you!! 😁 I think there was a romance/love challenge of some type last year but I can’t remember the specifics, so maybe it was for that, Cathy.. ☺️👍

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    Speechless. Congrats on a very well deserved Top Story!

  • Such a tenderly poignant portrait of lost love. Way to play my heartstrings, Cathy!!

  • Caroline Jane15 days ago

    What a gorgeously penned piece this is. Thoroughly soulful. Beautiful.

  • Heather Hubler15 days ago

    Oh my dear Queen, this is so painfully beautiful. Wow. Just wow. Congrats on TS for this masterpiece :)

  • Daphsam15 days ago

    Oh this is heartbreakingly beautiful. Congratulations on top story!

  • Paul Stewart15 days ago

    Breathtaking, Buddy. You just are so incredibly talented, Cathy. I mean that sincerely and not just cos we are friends. Always so blown away by your way with words. Congrats on another fine Top Story, Canada-buddy!

  • Kendall Defoe 15 days ago

    Perfect! 🏅

  • the devil is in these details, so enticing and soft, you created a deeply vivid and electrical piece my friend👌😍🥰👏👏

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    This is an amazing piece of work, so laden with yearning.

  • "A lifetime of tears". That hit me so hard. Your poem was so sad 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️ Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • John Cox15 days ago

    This is an amazing Tribute and Elegy, Cathy! The love and sorrow you have expressed is deeply moving. I’m sorry for your loss!

  • Kodah15 days ago

    Beautiful, sending you lots of love and hugs❤! Congrats on top story Cathy! 💌

  • D. D. Lee15 days ago

    Heart wrenching and beautiful. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Caroline Craven15 days ago

    This is such a beautiful top story. Well done. This was great.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.