Poets logo

Through My Eyes

A poem

By Willow Rakiah Creager Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Through My Eyes
Photo by Daniel Jensen on Unsplash

I have two baskets full of clothes

And a shattered sense of home

If I could see from slotted eyes,

I'd feel what drives your sickened lies.

What about me do you envy

That you fiend to speak so freely?

What is it that you're needing

From this life you are impeding?

It isn’t what it seems.

Here's what you don't see.

.

I'd call my life a sham of the thought

Of a child being hopefully prodigious.

Born to two warmongering souls,

I was damaged from the start.

Cracked by the pressure,

I could've learned more

Could’ve found the life

You believed for me.

.

With nothing but barriers in my way,

I wasted centuries of time

Getting back to the baseline:

The very same one

You’ve never been without.

I'm old, used up, brand new, reborn.

Wisdom's all I have to show.

Inconsistency pours from every pore.

I dread each dawning morn.

.

After countless unspeakably marring miles,

My bloody feet beguile.

In your bliss, short sightedness,

It drives you people wild.

I'd love to leave the past behind,

It haunts me every day.

It's the shadow on my heart,

The debt I can't repay.

.

With two baskets full of clothes

And a hunk of Swiss

'Neath battered bones

Torn away from my only love,

My dearly departed son,

Please think hard when you speak to friends,

What about me do you envy?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Willow Rakiah Creager

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.