Poets logo

Deprived

A poem

By Willow Rakiah Creager Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Deprived
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

You put me in a crib

And didn't kiss me goodnight.

This would be fine

If it happened one night.

But I've been so deprived

Of what's rightfully mine.

Why is it so hard to love me?

.

Then you put me outside

And didn't open the door,

Even knowing, forlorn,

I would seek out the storm.

Completely deprived,

Like it's decadent wine.

What on earth could it cost me?

.

Then to see worry free

Careless glee in others' eyes,

When I ached all my life

For that feeling to be mine...

Needy and deprived,

I'm still feeling cast aside.

Is it possible to love me?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Willow Rakiah Creager

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.