Poets logo

Three Faces

Hecate

By SARAH STEWARTPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I am the colour of the moon. I cast black shadows, yet have no light,

Am I the moon, a silver mirror of the sun. The sun whose light is the brightest and more brilliant than mine.

Moonlight tricks, deceives, and runs off with your money. So they say.

I have no water, yet I command the sea. My rhythms are the incoming tide of birth and the outgoing tide of death.

Are we burdened by our rhythms, always changing yet always predictable? Luna, lunatic. Hysterical. Inconstant. Pock marked with craters, wounds we have silently borne.

Virgins, Mothers, Crones.

Black clouds birth darts of silver rain that sit like a glass globe on green leaves. Life giving, then vanishing whence they came.

Ten lunar months the unborn swims in the womb of creation, responding to the rhythms of life. Life's thread is spun, is measured, and is always cut. There's only one way out.

I stand in that doorway myself. The face I wear is the face of Hecate, the third face, the Crone. Midwife of Death.

Her time is the dark of the moon. Her time is the time of power.

Her mirror is broken and she sees clearly in the dark.

In the waning dark of the moon she will give birth to the crescent moon.

She always does.

I think we shall all meet again on the dark side of the moon

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.