Poets logo

Threadbare in Coat, Heart, Body & Brain

I fought Moby Dick and won.

By Arianna WhitePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am no stranger to the pitfalls and perils of humanity.

The universe wills and whims its way to winning,

And we struggle against the tide to understand the physics

Behind every wave that crashes.

We are not meant to understand.

To survive, we must adapt.

We must learn to swim.

And when our arms get tired and we can’t catch our breath,

we must learn to hold it and float,

balancing the weight of the guilts we bear so that we may benefit from the buoyancy beyond.

In the stillness, we are weightless.

Amidst an endless sky, our oceans and horizons are one.

I have seen the shores ahead,

I have beckoned the winds to guide me,

I have bellowed into the depths of seemingly

endless despair, begging for the break of day.

I have been broken by the current,

eroded, corroded, like a maiden’s shipwrecked voyage.

I have crumbled into sand as my glass psyche

attempts to withstand the bludgeonings

of a blustering hurricane.

I have been the beacon, and I have been the bruised.

I have seen the darkest nights, and the brightest sunrise.

I have heard the whale-song within, for which my heart has no anchor.

You can call me Ishmael.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.