Poets logo

Thoughts at Dusk

Poem

By Muhammad SherazPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Thoughts at Dusk
Photo by Fabricio Merino on Unsplash

A weary traveler I've been,
Tired and distraught I sit,
On the edge of the road I treaded once,
On the verge of the dusk, I sit in trance,
As, its end, the day is soon to meet,
The sun is setting unto me, I see.

It has started to fade – the trail I left,
The trail I follow, the night will veil.
The sands of time will conceal all,
The wounds that hurt, the stories of fall,
The trophies earned and of glorious tales.
Tired I sit – distraught, bereft.

Fallen, I have, from the path that I chose,
Now I lay before two unlike ways.
The one, left, will lead to plight,
To a place where nothing, so, is right.
The Right path leads to virtue they say.
Yet, nothing is left for me to where it goes.

Which should I take I cannot tell,
What, for me, the ways do save.
For, a treacherous path, its traps, unfolds
To the traveler, only after it holds
The poor fellow in his misery (as if a cold cave –
Devouring his trace, his desperate yells.)

A lost warrior I've been
In a fight I was to thrive,
Somehow (though I know not why)
My sword, I abandoned,
Renounced the will to try.
In a battle that I should win,
Under the crushing dusk I lay
Wasted; As I ponder what I so covet
Will never be; My thoughts go astray;
they ask me why (aimless within).
But - alas it was never made –
The quivering confession of the innocent sin.

And what of those eyes
That look up to me, the blessings
In the warmth of which I wish to drown.
By the tide of courage and purpose they bring
I try to stride.
As the dusk comes crashing down,
As the dusk comes crushing down.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.