Poets logo

Thorns

Twisted and Torn

By Bex JordanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Short Sharp Shock (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

Everything is thorns,

And the words you flung

Were swords.

I am a ghost

In a house haunted

By Us–our firsts, our fists,

My flight cut short

From wings clipped

By fear of fault,

Of life, of being

A(lone)

For the first time

A dream

Held tight for so

Long, I don't know

If I can make it real…

To soar in a world

So close to the

Sun, the drip

Of melting

Wax and feathers

The strip of

Light between curtains.

But to not try

Would only be

To turn the key

In my own cage.

I need the Oracle,

A sage to tell me

The right path to

Take, I've already made

So many mistakes

But I suppose it's time

To gather up pieces

And start over again

(and again, and again

Ad infinitum...)

sad poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Enjoyed this one - Pernoste

  • Nice piece 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.