Poets logo

In Waves

Do I Really Want to Break for You?

By Bex JordanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Out to See (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

My very best

Just barely good enough

I have to remember

To freeze my tongue

For fear of your retreat.

The push and pull,

The waves of

Will you, won't you,

PLEASE respond, I'm

Drowning here waiting

To hear if this was

Our final song.

/) /) /)

Last night I dreamt of

Kissing you, but

I can't talk of dreams;

And when I do

You close up like

An anemone, shut tight.

I wish I knew

More about your fight,

What happened? How

can I make it right?

/) /) /)

Was it something I said?

I wonder if it's worth

It, the dread

Of the day you finally

Decide I'm Too Much,

That you can't collect

My chaos, I swear

I must be better

Than I used to be;

I no longer seek it out

But sometimes

The storm does

Bubble up,

From the depths

In spite of the

Leagues I've leapt

And this sea

I've wept

for

you.

/) /) /)

And then I remind myself…

I don't fit into

boxes.

So why

Would I try to

Force myself inside

These tiny ice cubes

When I'm the

Whole goddamned

O C E A N

?

A universe,

A gift and a curse

That's maybe just

'too much'

For

You.

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    Ice cubes and ocean, very nice. You reflect as incisively on suffering as on joy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.