Poets logo

THORN OF A ROSE 🌹

Spreading Domestic Violence awareness

By Teresa JoinerPublished 2 years ago • Updated 2 years ago • 1 min read
Like

Many have said that I 

 have changed,

Like the seasons;

The atmosphere slowly fades.

What made me this way in the first place?

Holding a rose in my hand;

Takes me back to that moment in time

Of what I had left behind.

No one knew;

I kept it hidden inside.

The bloodstains on the floor,

The broken glass shattering my

  Inner core.

The uninvited beatings that occurred

   behind closed doors.

I choose not to be a victim anymore.

A bouquet of Roses remind me of u,

Saying "I'm sorry" for all I do."

U say, " I'm you're one and only"

 But, that's not true.

U played me and I feel used.

Back to the day u first hit me,

I couldn't believe my eyes.

With u near;

I was walking on eggshells day and night.

The thorn of a rose pricked my finger,  Dripping red.

Now, u are in someone else’s bed;

I'm glad I left!

Never again will I be the same;

With all the tears shed.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Teresa Joiner

Author & Poet with interests in music, art, traveling.

www.amazon.com/author/teresajoiner

prweb.com/releases/2017/08/prweb14636135.htm

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.