Poets logo

This Prison I'm In

Basin Reveries

By SchmalzPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
This Prison I'm In
Photo by Abbie Chohrach on Unsplash

This prison I’m in doesn’t have bars

There’s no cell that keeps me bound

It’s the darkest place that I’ve found

I plan my escape day after day

And it don’t matter who comes around

This ancient lock & key can’t be found

So I stare out at the sky from my window

But there’s no one saving me now

Each thought is just a reminder

Of this place that I will forever dwell

Cause I’m locked in a prison without bars

I’m bound for freedom one these days

And stare out to see an eagle on the wind

Imprisoned by the drift he has flown

And I smile for my fate has been drawn

So I won’t get out of these prison bars

Until you return some fine old day

But it’ll be too late

I’ve been locked out from that gate

Learned to smile and accept my fate

There’s only one who holds the keys

To end this perpetual thing I can’t see

I stopped wandering the desert

No more hills can I climb

The open sea has become too foreign to me

I’m locked in chains

In this prison you and I made

Soon they’ll come ropes tied in their hands

it’s only destiny

I’ll look at each with a smile and a nod

Won’t you lay me down in the Rockies

Low in a basin

My freedom is in that peaceful sod

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.