Poets logo

This Message Is For You

It’s time the world sees your debut

By Karyn SavagePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
This Message Is For You
Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

I have a message for you.

I see what you’re going through.

No, I don’t know you

Or what it is to wear your shoes.

All I know, with injustice: we all lose.

So I won’t be silent: I refuse.

When each of us has power to choose.

We can be the change for something new.

We can be the bold among the few.

We can be ones standing in solidarity, who

Will say to the world “we stand for you!”

We purge out prejudice views,

No one has the right to abuse,

We will speak out the unjust taboo,

Together we can be a societal glue

Surely humanity is not so askew,

For a cultural and societal renew.

I ache for what we can’t undo.

Generational pain a permanent tattoo,

Surely now this is our cue.

Basic kindness isn’t hard to do.

You are worthy! Do you know it’s true?

You’re enough just because you’re you!

Not because of the street where you grew.

Or the career you might pursue.

It’s time the world sees your debut,

It’s time the world sees you for YOU!

*Big love to every reader, likes, subscribers and tippers! You are the reason I write.

Here is another you may enjoy: https://vocal.media/poets/time-to-shine

celebritiesheartbreakinspirationallove poemsperformance poetrysad poetryslam poetrysocial commentary
4

About the Creator

Karyn Savage

A teacher, musician and writer at heart. I love painting pictures with words. Poetry and stories in rhyme are what I love to write the most. One day I hope to see some of my works for children in print.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.