Poets logo

This Isn't About Love Don't Be Mistaken

Poetry for the curious. Poetry for the contemplative. Poetry for the ones who just think too much.

By E.AmaliaPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
3
This Isn't About Love Don't Be Mistaken
Photo by Steven Kamenar on Unsplash

First things first. I breathe to check the vitals.

Yes, this is real and I don't need your idols.

Beyond the wonder I wonder, I see you under the words I ponder.

The beauty we recreate together.

Your voice. Not muffled. Yes, more than a whisper.

The sting in my heart.

Good, or is it bad?

Am I supposed to be sick?

Lovesick? Anxious?

Good or bad.

By Denis Degioanni on Unsplash

The little hand spins faster while the big hand just drags.

Can you wonder with me?

Are you looking up in wonder with me?

Words. These words.

Are you talking to me?

How long should I wait?

How long will you run?

This beauty forever is under an infinite sun.

Cliche.

My best.

Too much.

The beats in my chest.

By Ali Hajiluyi on Unsplash

I can't fathom what we will be.

This rhythm ripping from inside of me.

The depths so deep my eyes cannot see.

Is it darkness, or is it the calm?

Under the water is still.

Beneath the storm.

Come wander with me.

If it weren't for you.

I wouldn't. I couldn't

Beyond the wonders, I wonder.

I wonder if the moon knows no other.

This isn't about love.

Don't be mistaken.

Just wander with me, through the woods of pondering.

Your voice. A whisper.

There is no doubt.

We're still breathing together.

Please, do not shout.

By Panos Sakalakis on Unsplash

*Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this please consider subscribing and why not leaving a tip to support my work?

Author's Note

This poem was inspired by a poem I once heard at a slam back in college. I don't remember the title or even the name. I do remember it was in an auditorium called the Cherry Garcia Theatre.

To the poet who inspired me with your words and your performance of them, thank you! Also, I am terribly sorry I don't remember your name or the title of your poem. I do hope that you are flourishing and thriving out there somewhere inspiring so many others.

By Donald Giannatti on Unsplash

*I am part of running a newsletter for all creatives! It's especially for those who have hit a slump, or blockage or are journeying through a creative desert. We are here for you and are here to champion those who need some creative support. Currently, there are submission calls for our Sunday Showcase.

surreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetryinspirationalchildrens poetryart
3

About the Creator

E.Amalia

Hola! I'm E.Amalia. I've got a penchant for the macabre, weird, and spine chilling genres. Also I write poetry, also I'm a dragon for books.

Drop a ❤️

Subscribe 🖤

Comment 💙

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This was so relatable and you wrote it so beautifully. I loved it so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.