Poets logo

This Is Not a Love Song

A letter of finality..........

By Valentyna HollowayPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Rage is a dangerous beast,

likely to eat you up from the inside.

Listen to it,

understand what it is.

I am the ocean you divided with your storm.

Fierce, unyielding.

Rising up in white capped waves fighting the onslaught.

We brought this out in each other.

Let it go.

I returned and returned like waves kissing the shore;

my kisses like stardust, my heart breathing light ––

ghostlike mist brushing my face,

salted tears choking my throat

when all I should have felt was gentle sighs.

We both knew we wanted more.

This is not a love song.

Dragged under by the current

as I always tried to smooth waves.

Words dipped in my kindness countering

actions dipped in your spite.

Night after night

you passed the road to my heart

but never wanted to live there.

Jagged edges stood between you and I ––

Still, I rise.

I always loved November roses,

you tried to cut me deeply with thorns.

Flowers need never be chaotic.

I will be your fondest memory ––

the what if that haunts you until your last breath.

Fare thee well.

I effortlessly choose the stardust love

that calls my heart home.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Valentyna Holloway

Valentyna, wordsmith, poet, bearer of scribed love, flâneuse, and aesthete is the published author of several poetry collections including This Is A Love Song, Forbidden Love Songs, Coffee Laced Thoughts, and The Ripped Notebook Series.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.