Poets logo

This Is Not A Limerick

It Is A Sonnet

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11

Introduction

Another protest at the flood of short-form poems. This is not a dig at the poems but a suggestion to Vocal who could limit the number of entries into a challenge for any kind of submission. I believe some creators see the short-form poems as a sort of free lottery ticket. They are quick to create and get published and surely if you enter a hundred into the challenge you stand a better chance of winning.

I don't see any haiku, but so many limericks that I have just given up reading them.

So this is not a limerick.

The music is "When I Paint My Masterpiece", The Band's take on the Bob Dylan song because at some point we will get the recognition we deserve for the work that we believe is worthy.

🌜💲🌛 🌜💲🌛 🌜💲🌛 🌜💲🌛

I Could Have Written A Limerick

But Decided It Was A Gimmick

I Really Wanted To Be On It

So I Put Down Lines Of A Sonnet

🌜💲🌛

I Could Have Written A Villanelle

But Mine Will Not Go Down Very Well

While I Know My Poems Push Limits

They've No Chance If They're Not Limericks

🌜💲🌛

There Are So Many Forms We Could Try

But Short Format Are The Ones That Fly

They Be Written Quickly, That Is So

How They Are Judged, Nobody Does Know

🌜💲🌛

Keep On Writing Vocal Creator

Your Boat'll Come In, Sooner Or Later

🌜💲🌛 🌜💲🌛 🌜💲🌛 🌜💲🌛

performance poetrysocial commentary
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    I'm not so sure that multiple entries increase the chances of winning. I'm more inclined to imagine the judges, saying, "Jeez. This guy again?"

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Yeah, I'm guilty of writing a few too many for the limerick and haiku challenges. After writing content all day, doing something fun helps me unwind.

  • Lol, I get your feeling. I wasn't gonna write a limerick but I was suddenly hit with an idea and got limericked, lol. But if it helps, I only wrote one 😁

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    Mike, I LOVE this! 💕🙂

  • I liked your poem :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    If they ever have another sonnet challenge, I will write a limerick or haiku complaining about it. 🤔

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Bravo!!! Love this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.