Poets logo

This House

what is home

By Goldie Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like

This house is starting to feel less like home

Every time I come back its to dense for me to fit

The memory’s stick to the wall like tar and the stains on the carpet I can no longer see

Its become to full of moving parts and stationary reminders

The layout is ingrained in my hands

I could pour myself a cup of milk in the kitchen sound asleep

Yet I still manage to stub my toe on every corner

Especially the one coated with pencil marks

Theses halls watched me grow

Like a grandmother insecure about the passing of time they drag me back to youth

The mirrors show a younger me

The ones I hoped I'd left behind

But we all sleep together in the bed of restless nights

craning our neck to meet eyes with the window

The slight sway of silhouetted leaves is still mesmerizing

The three stars that make up the top of my left check still tell me its alright

This house

What is home

Do I need to find it again

The hardest part is to start looking

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Goldie

Addiction to my pen sweeping cobwebs in my mind

The brief feeling of structure when my thoughts start to rhyme

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.