Poets logo

This facade

my self-loathing.

By Alyce WillowPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
Credits- Br4in_Dead on reddit!

Lucky, they all told me

They just didn’t get it.

As they grew strong and bold,

I wished the opposite for me.

Hoping time would make my tongue softer,

less sharp, less unkind.

Instead, bitterness took hold,

And venom filled my mind

Wearing my patience thin.

They wanted to be stronger,

But strength became my curse

And I despise its tight bite.

I want to be weak,

To feel the freedom of weakness,

To escape this "strong woman" facade,

Fear grips me, I can't escape it,

As opinions turn to an outburst,

My articulation mistaken for aggression,

All this dedication labeled as delusion's sweet song,

Dreams of my youth are now lost illustrations,

My forced independence is simply insanity,

My beauty is hidden by bossy in written in bold,

Everyone listening when I speak means I take up space,

I need to shrink

To be fragile,

Small, yet placed on high shelves for safekeeping.

But my severity yells over,

My softest sighs.

Mental HealthStream of ConsciousnessRequest FeedbackFirst Draft

About the Creator

Alyce Willow

Hello, I am a young journalist and poet. I have dedicated the last few years to honing my writing skills and have found joy in using words to express my thoughts and emotions. Thank you for taking the time to read about my hyperfixations.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    👍❤💕👍❤💕

  • Manisha Dhalani5 days ago

    Oh, that ending. Brilliant writing.

  • shanmuga priya6 days ago

    Your words resonates deeply...I liked your poem.

Alyce WillowWritten by Alyce Willow

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.