Poets logo

This Can’t Be Happening To Me

Breast cancer awareness collaboration.

By Angela DerschaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
This Can’t Be Happening To Me
Photo by Blake Connally on Unsplash

The following poem was written for two reasons, one because October is breast cancer awareness month, and two for a collaboration of my writers group. Be sure to check it out for some incredible writers!

🎀🎀🎀🎀🎀

My life is alright, but it could be better.

A steady job, a loving family.

Everything is going according to plan, for better or worse.

Completely unaware that it could be taken away so easily

That is, until this morning.

This can’t be happening to me…

🎀🎀🎀🎀🎀

Reveling in the soapy warmth, that’s when I feel it.

Across my right pectoral for all the world to see.

Discolored, hard, large, and painful. A brutal combination.

The sight of it sends forth anxiety.

At the thought of this cruel abomination.

This can’t be happening to me…

🎀🎀🎀🎀🎀

I book an appointment, hoping for the best.

Every day the anticipation compounds.

My mornings are filled with worry; my nights devoid of rest.

My wife can’t stop crying.

Because of my mortality

This can’t be happening to me…

🎀🎀🎀🎀🎀

Results came back after a week of waiting.

Stage two metastatic breast cancer that’s spreading to my lymph nodes.

There’s hope for recovery, as long as I get surgery.

Along with radiation treatment.

Please send prayers for my family.

This can’t be happening to me…

🎀🎀🎀🎀🎀

This poem was written in observance of breast cancer all across the world. Cancer is a terrible disease that rots your body and destroys families. It’s only with love and support that we can fight this horrible reality. To find out more and what you can do to help, please visit this website

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Splendid cancer awareness poem!!! Left some love.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.