Poets logo

This Ain’t About You

Kate Marie

By Kate MariePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3

This ain’t About you but maybe it is.

Because maybe something that’s written in these lines applies to you but not intentionally.

I wasn’t even thinking about you when I wrote these stanzas.

This ain’t about you but maybe it applies to you.

Somewhere deep inside you lives a guilty conscience.

Somewhere deep inside you lies something that you regret.

Somewhere deep inside you hosts a part of you that you won’t let out.

This ain’t about you.

And while that stands true maybe it is.

Because something I said applies to you.

I’m only speaking words that people won’t say.

Did I mention your name?

Throw any slangs your way ?

Only way for you to feel like a target is to make yourself the bullseye.

This ain’t about you.

And while that stands true I can’t make you see what I see, feel how I feel, care how I care.

This originally wasn’t about you but if it applies to you then what am I to do ?

This ain’t about you.

How you hurt me.

How you cursed me.

How you abandoned me.

How you rejected me.

This WASN’T about you.

But if you want to make about you then something must be true !

slam poetry
3

About the Creator

Kate Marie

I find release in writing. This next year, come learn who I am and how I’ve grown. New post every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday! Maybe something I’ve been through can help you grow too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.