Poets logo

Thirteen

Dreamboats and Fantasies

By Misty RaePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7

Thirteen and awkward,

Still a little girl,

Barbies and doodle books,

Crowded my room,

The playthings of the child I still was,

And somehow the relics of what I used to be.

Boys didn't matter,

Not to me,

Annoying, smelly, loud and dumb,

Until I saw you.

Dancing across my screen,

A vision of perfection,

Of lovelinesss,

Of manhood personified.

Thick coiffed hair I longed to get lost in,

Dreamy hazel eyes,

A million-watt smile

That made me stop dead,

Wondering,

What's this?

You drew me into womanhood,

Made me giddy

As my heart fluttered and my stomach churned

We were destined to be together

I was so sure

As you sang right to me

The lyrics,

The music,

All chosen for your unknown love.

You and me together,

It had to be fate,

The perfect couple.

Then again,

Maybe not,

I was only thirteen,

And you weren't really my type,

But I remember you fondly

And treasure your tunes.

You may be gone,

but we'll always have thirteen.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.