Poets logo

Things That Remind Me of You

Kittens and Puppies and Love

By Cathy holmesPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
27
Photo by Nathan Dumlao - Unsplash

On the first day we met I knew you’d be mine

And dreamed you would love me for all my lifetime

Your eyes I first noticed from across the room

Your smile lit the night up as bright as the moon

*

I loved you at first sight, it’s silly but true

No other could have me, it had to be you

When you took my hand and said you felt the same

I could see our future, knew I’d take your name

*

Now it’s been two decades since first when we met

That night when I found love, I’ll never forget

So dear let me tell you just how much you mean

From that day to this one and all those between

*

Our love is a kitten with soft downy fur

She makes my heart putter with the sound of her purr

Our love is a puppy with big chocolate eyes

His rambunctious antics, you can’t help but smile

*

Our love is our babies, who’ve cooed in your arms

With heart overwhelming, you succumbed to their charms

As mother and father we held them so close

And dried all their teardrops, while their hair we stroked

*

Our love is a partnership with kisses so sweet

The true one we’ve dreamed of, who makes life complete

Our love is a song on an old radio

Musical memories for me and my beau

*

Our love is a movie we’ve watched twenty times

We know it by heart now, can say all the lines

Our love is a good book that I’ll always keep

A paperback romance, it helps me to sleep

*

Our love is the family we’ve built through the years

Through good and bad times, and laughter and tears

Our love is an essence I feel in my soul

An ethereal closeness that both our hearts know

*

Heartwarming memories and sweet chocolates too

Describe all the ways I feel about you

So I thought I’d take a moment to share

How much I still love you, after all of these years

love poems
27

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Awesome!!! Loved it previously and left a ♥ The re-read was perfect from finish to start.💕💖💖

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    So cute and so sweet and even though I can't have children I feel *all* of this!! 🥰❣️🥰❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.