Poets logo

Thin Lines

A delicate balance.

By Angela DerschaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
Picture by stock photo.com

I wrote this in regards to my own battle with depression and self-harm. Hopefully, it resonates with someone out there struggling. Please enjoy!

These thin lines.

Purple and blue,

They belong to me; they belong to you.

Paper-thin about to break,

There's only so much more that I can take.

Slowly drowning in my sorrow

Never going to wake up,

There's not going to be a tomorrow.

Pills and drink soothe the pain

I want to be numb

Never feel again.

Connect the dots on my arms,

Connect the dots on my legs,

Let's see if we can carve them up and make a picture.

Am I really living?

Or am I slowly dying?

I don't know, but I'm really trying.

Thanks for reading; if you like what you see, give me a heart. If you're feeling generous, a tip is appreciated but not necessary.

If you have someone in your life suffering from mental health issues and have suicide strongly on their mind, please urge them to receive help! Here is some resources for it: https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

sad poetry
9

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.