Poets logo

These Gods

We are the gods of the stories

By Jake WestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image Credit: https://newsela.com/read/elem-hist-gods-goddesses/id/28731/

Fear lets us be the one that we wish to not. It confines us to the corners of our body and it hides as the energy of our soul is sliced to bits.

Oh my love, oh I my dearest. I love you. I love you all. All and full I feel you pull at the air that suffocates you. I wish nothing more than for it to stop, yet there I stand breathing.

I found hope today. As I can on any day. But today was enough. Enough for my soul to explore the vastness once again. To feel the light hit its heart and remember how to cry.

I miss tears. And I suppose they miss me. They remind me. They show me. They love me, for I will love them.

Darkness is a beast that we love to give a name to. For that name shall never be our own. A name is a difference, and difference is anything but none.

So fight tooth and nail, and we shall see no end because the end is as “different” as the beginning.

Balance. I used to question its significance, now I crave its power. The power that the metaphor I manifest only for myself, I long to harness; just to find it was under my feet the entire time.

These gods, our gods, rule us not from the skies above, but from the self that governs our world.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jake West

I like words

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.