Poets logo

Thelma Sidestory

We grow, we change, we do some damage

By FIFEPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Thelma Sidestory
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

My friend, I’d chase after

youthful energetic overemotion

anywhere

absolutely

  • but I go sideways,

    bypass completely

    So I try

    just to try

    and gain the criticism: “It’s not up

    to you;

    it’s not your responsibility.”

    And they say, forget about her.

    But what kind of friend would do that sort of thing?

    While I’m young, I have

    strength that is

    energy that is

    power, lacking influence

    And I am not distant

    distance is felt

    We are not unfeeling

  • We feel everything, like

    how the cells in tissues slow

    and stagnate and we shrink

    our skeletons splinter and

    our capillaries are too thin

    Underneath the ribcage

    avoided it last-second-like and it could’ve killed me

    reflexes protect what exactly…?

    The promise of a youthtime, I pull the soft emotions

    out of the beams in her body

    the deadly-weaponed springtime

    of life

    The friend I understood has grown mysterious

    her thoughts are oblique shadows cast against

    and obscuring our shared past

    But, forget about her…?

    While I’m young, nothing will ‘destroy’ me

    But I age and

    I expire, with

    a festering, unhealed

    memory

    heartbreak
    Like

    About the Creator

    FIFE

    The written word is everything. I love to read, and I love to write - primarily fiction and poetry, but I'm also psyched to learn about pretty much any topic and to share my expertise in music and music business.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.