Poets logo

Theater & You

Standing outside at Night

By Madison B. Published 6 months ago 2 min read
Theater & You
Photo by Lucas Ferreira on Unsplash

Dark and clear

The summer desert’s moon and stars.

I can see your awkward smile,

And your fingers tapping on your legs.

Turning a blind eye to the film of daydreams,

Our only thoughts of each other in the night.

I think of nothing but you,

Do you think of nothing but me?

My copper eyes have to look up

My neck has to crane back,

Just so I could see his

Round coffee eyes,

Precious ear to ear smile,

Scarlet blooming cheeks,

His straight somewhat button nose,

His ever so slightly protruding ears,

Those ears he hates and covers,

Does he know every inch of him is lovely?

Every part of him is wonderful to me.

He may have a bad hair day,

His face may break out,

He may wear his expensive suit one day,

Then the next he’s sick in bed,

With his skin pale,

And shadows under his eyes.

He could be asleep on the couch,

With crusty eyes and drooling on the cottony pillows,

He could be fixed up for the evening,

Or dressed up in his old worn out pajamas.

But it would never matter how he looked,

Each time I see his face,

Whether he thought he looked fine or not,

He looked like what I needed and loved,

It’s just him and purely him that makes me happy.

So here we stand,

Outside at night during the moonlit hours.

The movie had ended and everyone had left,

Driving their cars back to their cozy homes and lives.

So it left but just us,

Are we running out time as we stand here?

The clock seems to tick but we took no note.

Could we decide for what was real?

Inside it feels that we’ve been here once before.

I act as if I don’t mind,

But I don’t know if I can do this anymore.

Then in the light from the dim lamp post,

I saw you try and calm yourself,

Breathing deep through your lungs.

At that my heart began to beat rapidly,

As if I was running for my life.

Yet I merely was just standing still,

Standing before you.

Just us alone in the dark of the night.

Then you put such a delicate hold on my chin,

Like how you put such a delicate hold on my heart,

so many years ago.

Friendshiplove poemsFamily

About the Creator

Madison B.

I love to write stories! I ❤ music (TOP, GD, MCR, SD, SWS, BVB, PTV, MIW, P!ATD, FAB, GS, B-182, FIR, ATL, MP, AY), the MCU, & animals. I hope u enjoy my stories and poems as much as I do! Have a great day! :)

Mystery

Thriller

Poems

Fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Madison B. Written by Madison B.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.