Poets logo

The Writer's Folly

Sometimes It's Pointless

By Dan R FowlerPublished 10 months ago 1 min read

A Writer’s Folly

It doesn’t matter how much I write,

If all that people do is turn from my sight.

Where words and sentences and paragraphs abound,

But for those it was intended for don’t make a sound.

The readings I type, hours upon hours,

If less than what is expected, their interest sours.

But I continue to pen each thought in word form,

Even if there isn’t any thunder, no approaching storm.

It’s sad that years have now gone by,

And no one who reads my work or even says hi.

Yet, onward I’ll march regards of the interest,

Into my worlds of aliens, dogs, and princesses.

For me, it’s not about who they might be,

It’s more important that it’s the color they see.

Shades of gray, washes of red, splashed upon a page,

That is what the game is about until the day I pass away.

So be gone with you those who would offend,

For I’ll write seriousness or perhaps folly until my end.

And in my waning years when sight is disappearing,

My pen never the blind one will continue orchestrating.

humor

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Yes, always keep writing! Loved your poem!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.