Poets logo

The Winter Prowler

The Prey

By Haggar BenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
9
The Winter Prowler
Photo by Patrick Mueller on Unsplash

The trees were bare.

But beware, some had a snare.

Not a single leaf remained on the barren branches.

A gentle snow had begun to fall in patches.

The sound of wood creaking achingly –

And wind billowing traveled its way down into the valley.

The forest was inhabited; the creatures hidden from sight,

Hibernating and avoiding frostbite.

It was peaceful, not a disturbance in view.

But wait - in the distance, there – right there – was an object with an odd hue.

Squinting against the onslaught of sharp snowflakes,

A shadow of a figure was made visible right by the lakes.

In a blink of an eye, it had disappeared,

Leaving me wondering if the cold was affecting me as much as I feared.

Crunching of snow could be heard from behind.

I whirled around and met with nothing – Am I losing my mind?

Perhaps I have been out too long in this outdoor freezer,

Increasing the odds of having developed a high fever.

An ice breeze skimmed across my rosy cheeks,

Invading my nostrils with a strong scent of rust that gave me the creeps.

Warm thoughts blanketed my mind with the thought of home,

After finding the winter wonderland scenery too monochrome.

I turned and took a step back.

I froze, noticing something wrong with the track.

Gone were the footprints,

Leaving me no hints –

Of the directions I took.

Something was amiss, so I had another look.

Red thick droplets tainted the uniform layer of white snow.

With a frown, I kneeled and inspected what lied below.

However, I was deeply mistaken.

The source came from above – and it was utterly forsaken.

sad poetryvintagesurreal poetrynature poetryinspirationalhumorheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptsart
9

About the Creator

Haggar Ben

I love to dream and let my mind drift off into new worlds and characters.

With the use of this platform, I plan to practice the gift and artform of storytelling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Very good atmospheric build-up to that nasty ending. I liked it. It unsettled me.

  • zach esta5 months ago

    Very eerie story! LOVE IT

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Wow, so dramatic! Oh my! The ending was something!

  • I did not see that coming! Very well done!

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Nice little twist at the end there...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.