Poets logo

The Winter Blossom

H.L. Steele

By Hazel SteelePublished 3 days ago 1 min read
The Winter Blossom
Photo by Jack Blueberry on Unsplash

Numb is but a feeling,
One my heart holds on,
Like an empty world that's wheeling,
Seeming to fall like a newborn fawn,

Is there nothing to set me free,
Nothing to save me now,
This hollowness consumes me,
Yet I cannot understand how,

I'm breathing in-yet drowning,
I'm screaming out-yet silent,
My leaves once green-now browning,
My once calm mind-now violent,

I'm a flower delicate and broken,
Numbed by something deep,
I will not blossom when spoken,
Instead I slowly weep

heartbreaksad poetrynature poetryFree Verse

About the Creator

Hazel Steele

Hello, my name is Hazel Steele. I primarily write fictional stories and poems. If requested, I will write works of non-fiction, as I enjoy research and studying.

Thank you for taking the time to glance at my profile.

-H.L. Steele

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout 10 hours ago

    Nice poetry.

  • Once green leaves now browning evokes a sense of internal conflict, your words convey a profound sense of sadness and vulnerability, may you find solace and healing in expressing your emotions through your art, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

HSWritten by Hazel Steele

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.