Poets logo

The Windows of My Soul

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
2

Lightning slashes across the angry sky

Reminding me of a disco ball that has lost its rhythm

Forgone its cadence

While the ancient Valkyries dance and call out

To the newly departed ones

Guiding them gently back home

The rain beats against the glass panes

Like tears of the damned painfully shattering

The windows of my soul

I pull the warm blankets of denial over my head

Pretending it is not you

Who is out there

Beckoning and reaching out to bring me home

Begging me to let go and let be

Pleading with me to come back to you

Knowing eventually, I will no longer be able to resist you

Instead, I desperately try to submerge myself

Into the solitude of sleepy dreamland again

But you are persistent and won’t let me rest

As you relentlessly pound on

The windows of my soul

Surrounding me with synchronicities

Until I don’t know the difference between

The knowledge of my fate

And the misconstrued truth I hold so dear

Forcing me to accept the divinity of our reality

Telling me everything happens for a reason

And that my thoughts are not projections

Of my human existence

But they are the actual reality of us

Forcing me to recognize the shimmer of

Sacred consciousness sharply reflected in

The windows of my soul

You are my miracle

You are my flame

-Julie O'Hara

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    There are deep truths and lessons in there... Thank you for writing and sharing 😊

  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    Beautifully written, Ms O’Hara.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.