Poets logo

THE WHISPER OF THE WIND

Random Acts of Kindness

By Margaret BrennanPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1

THE WHISPER OF THE WIND

I watched the night darken.

And then, just by chance

I noticed a shadow

In a most unusual dance.

*

As the wind moved the clouds

In a swirl of great speed,

The ghost left a message

That I knew I must heed.

*

I always sought pleasure,

Though I journeyed too deep.

Never once being conscious

Of those I made weep.

*

My days were not empty,

As they faded to night.

Activity flourished.

That was my plight.

*

I never took time or

Made my mind alert

That some of my actions

Might cause people hurt.

*

My pastures were green,

But my heart was like ice.

I turned my back on nature,

Not once, more than twice.

*

Now, my hair’s turning gray,

In solitude I find

With some inner searching

I still have my mind.

*

‘Tho he spoke not a word

Through his message, I found

There was still some time left

To turn my life around.

*

So, with my message of caution

And my age turning old,

I’ll take his words of silver

And make my actions gold.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Margaret this was a beautiful poem about the ripple effect that one act of kindness can have on someone's life! I loved the concept and rhyme scheme! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.