Poets logo

EATING ALONE

and not being lonely

By Margaret BrennanPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
2

EATING ALONE

“You’ll be alright?” he asked with concern in his voice.

When was I never? Did I have even a choice?

*

He kissed my cheek, said, “I’ll be home in a while.

“Don’t worry; I’m fine”, I said with a smile.

*

I’ve had dinner alone many times in the past.

I’ve done it before; this won’t be the last.

*

The guys rarely, if ever go out on their own.

We’re all friends and neighbors and very well known.

*

Sometimes, I prefer just a small snack for dinner.

I’d like to lose a bit of weight – to look a bit thinner.

*

But if I keep cooking all the meals he likes to eat,

When I go to sit down, I’ll need more than one seat.

*

“Don’t worry about me. You know I’ll be fine.

I’ll have a good meal and tall glass of wine.”

*

I’ll sit for a while and read a good book.

Then I’ll turn on the TV and have quick a look.

*

I might find something interesting I’d like to see.

Or maybe, I’ll write. Oh heck, you know me!

*

There’s always something I find to do,

Whether it’s an old thing or perhaps something new.

*

“So, go, enjoy! I’ll be here when you’re done.

Say hi to the guys for me. Oh, and be sure to have fun.”

love poems
2

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Margaret - You're really pumping them out between your 'Happy-Place-Kitchen-Chores.' I had to comment on this one now that I eat alone, but still set the table. Rita Louise (please read "Last Valentine'') if you have a moment. We would sit down for all of our meals; and always waited for the other before a bite was taken - wanted to share that with you - I invite you to view my Hometown, Chatsworth, California. My "Cultural Exchange" is in the 'History' section. Best to you fellow 'Boomer' Jay

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    This was a really cute piece! 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.