Poets logo

The Week of Four Thursdays

“La semaine des quatre jeudis”

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Designed using Canva

This French expression, dating from the 15th century, evolved from two to four Thursdays. At the time, Thursday represented the children’s day of rest but also the fat day when one could eat at will in the religious sense. This ideal inspired dreams but was, of course, impossible. I wonder if it can be granted, after all.

The week of four Thursdays is slowly approaching

A year or perhaps a month, surely encroaching

The three days left could be Sundays or Saturdays

Or better yet — O Anthi — let them be Thursdays

The week of seven Thursdays is even more strained

Yet I am sure my Anthi will be alike, reigned

The week of four Thursdays is at hand and one more

I am holding it in my mind close to the core

I have a dentist appointment on Thursday next

It is easy to know which given the subtext

November 9, 2023, not the one

Before or after or any other rerun

Η εβδομάδα των τεσσάρων Πέμπτων μου*

Allows me to delight in my Anthi anew

-----

* My week of the four Thursdays, in Greek, pronounced: E evdomáda ton tessáron Pébton mou.

love poems

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Oh wow, I've never heard of that expression before. Thank you so much for sharing that and I loved your poem!

Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.