Poets logo

The Way I Love You

An abecedarian

By L. M. WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

The Way I love You

A scale impishly smirks up at me

With its red middle finger teetering

Between numbers I’d rather not share

As my stomach speaks in its native tongue.

Can’t it see what trouble this has caused us?

I kick the scale back under the counter.

Dieting will begin today—at lunch

It’s for the best, I sniffle, for the best

Eating a bowl filled with leafy green sheets

Feels so foreign, never satisfying enough to

Fill the black hole that rests in the pit

That devours everything in its path.

Growling, like the beast it is, for meat

For something sweet, salty and fatty

How I crave that cheesecake, so daintily

Resting on the dessert counter, calling me…

I can feel that cheesecake

Making sweet love to my muffin top

Janitors sweep up their messy union

Flushing them down the pipes that

Keep getting abused with a buttery coat

Of cinnamon sugar smeared across a

Landscape of fluffy yellow cake

Laced with a glistening pineapple and cherry

Moist it is as it dissolves on my tongue

Massaging and bathing the taste buds in

Naughty spiraling movements

Coating everything with a flavorful bliss

Oh how it slowly melts down my esophagus

Dripping into my stomach, teasing the

Prodigiously starved space with its juiciness

Making it crave for only more

Quirky is the affection

That has blossomed between us

Resisting the urge to devour more

Of the succulent delicacies

Seems like such a task now

As my mouth waters to place my lips

Tightly around the frozen tip of fro-yo

Fresh from the machine in a perfect spiral.

Underfed is that of my wild burning desire

Only being pleased by everything around it

Vultures would be satisfied off of carcasses

Before my monstrous appetite would be pleased

Whatever I do I avoid that scale

That sleeps under my sink that will

Xerox the number from before, or worse!

Have it go higher with its taunting red judger!

Yelling at me that I have failed once more!

But it will never understand the

Zesty, spicy and uncontrollable passion

I have for food.

love poems
1

About the Creator

L. M. Williams

I'm a self-published author that enjoys writing fantasy/supernatural/romance novels and occasionally dabble in poetry and realistic fiction. If not writing, I'm a freelance artist and a full time mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.