Poets logo

The Voice

A musing on anxiety

By J.P. WilliamsonPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
16
The Voice
Photo by Fernando @cferdophotography on Unsplash

There is a voice inside my head

That knows my hopes and fears

It feeds on everything I love

And steals away the years.

*

There is a voice within me

That drains my life of joy

And leaves behind the husk of

A shaking little boy.

*

There is a voice beside me

In the depths of night

It wraps its arms around me

And extinguishes my light.

*

The voice inside my head speaks

Of loss and pain and doubt

Of ebbing tides, of waning moons

Of life’s sand pouring out.

*

And where does this voice come from

That knows me oh-so-well?

This voice that strives to keep me

Locked in this anxious hell.

*

This voice likes to tell me

I’ll not amount to much

That any effort’s futile

And I start believing such.

*

This voice sees creation

As a fruitless waste of time

And it’s just not worth the effort

To try and make words rhyme.

*

And it's managed to convince me

To let my world shrink

That there is no harm in hiding

Because it’s safer not to think.

*

But another voice resides here,

From the murky depths it swims

And when it breaks the water

I know one day I’ll win.

sad poetry
16

About the Creator

J.P. Williamson

I am an English Literature graduate on the autistic spectrum who is looking to finally get into creative writing, expand my skill set and connect with other creatives.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina Raisa Voronainsky-Shigrov 5 months ago

    Absolutely beautifully written.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Excellent poem! The pacing and rhyme scheme flows nicely and the content is relatable. Congrats on a well-deserved Top Story!

  • I genuinely never thought anything I published on here would be read by anyone, so recognition like this is beyond amazing. Thank you all so much for reading and commenting, it means so much to me!

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    Perfection, self ~ reflection. Harmonic melancholy well presented. Felt every word.

  • Diana Penn5 months ago

    Well done.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I am not a poet, my words hold no value. I only know what I like and this I like. Congratulations

  • Amy Black5 months ago

    Beautiful, and relatable. Don't let your anxiety shrink you, shrink your anxiety. :)

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    I stopped to like this part way through...you'd convinced me by halfway. Then at the end I subscribed. This spoke deeply to me. Resonated with your words so much. This is evidence enough that it is worth you creating and ignoring that voice that tells you not to. Congrats on an astonishing Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.