Poets logo

The Voice

A poem about healing

By Molly MillerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Voice
Photo by Hussein Abdullah on Unsplash

The voice has been with me for as long as I can remember,

and I suspect that it was around even before that.

It is amorphous and chaotic,

appearing as my father:

I’m sorry, but I’m leaving.

I’m sorry we didn’t tell you that he was dying.

I’m sorry, but shouldn’t you be wearing a larger size these days?

I’m sorry, but why can’t you just choose to be happy?

The voice is sometimes so loud that I cannot hear anything else,

no matter who or what is trying to break through the din.

It is vicious and cunning,

appearing as my mother:

I’m sorry, we were protecting you.

I’m sorry, I don’t believe you.

I’m sorry, I lied.

I’m sorry, I don’t understand why you are so broken.

The voice only exists to steal moments of joy,

meticulously logging and filing away every slight and affront,

so they can be revisited as you are finally able

to feel the sun shining on your face again.

I’m sorry, but maybe if you weren’t such a whore,

this wouldn’t have happened.

I’m sorry, but if you leave, I’ll kill myself,

and everyone will know it was your fault.

I’m sorry I scared you.

I didn’t mean it.

The voice is cacaphonous,

like a hoard of 17-year locusts emerging from the ground.

but after decades of listening, I started to hear something new

cutting through their incessant drone.

I’m sorry. You are brave.

I’m sorry. You are worthy.

I’m sorry. You are loved.

And even if just for a moment,

the voice is silenced.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Molly Miller

Just a girl in the world sharing my personal writings on trauma, equity, and health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.