Poets logo

The Tube Ride

By Kimberly Hinds

By Kimberly HindsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in From Across the Room Challenge
3

Just another autumn day

All tube rides and deadlines

Dreams and disappointments

***

The train carriage is half empty

Like a table set for one

Or my unmade, bitter bed

***

There’s a man sitting opposite me, so handsome

I catch my breath

***

I can tell from his perfectly knotted tie, he is reliable and kind

Softly spoken

Italian silk is not for raised voices

He favours expensive navy tweed, the colour of loyalty

The owner of such a fine suit would never deceive

***

He stands upright amidst lumpen men

The posture of a man with a second home

A cottage in the woods?

But the tan

It’s a seaside villa

For I like the coast

***

Expensive thin steel rimmed glasses

An architect

Or a novelist

The kind that wins awards

And has savings

Despite old family money

***

He slowly touches his hair

Caressing with such care

A gentle lover

Tender, even when making the bed

He pulls the sheet corners tightly

And stacks the dishwasher with precision and glee

***

Look at me, I plead

I am ready to be loved and desired

To be kissed on Parisian bridges by moonlight

To choose blush peonies for the reception

And walk our dog, and rock our baby

***

I clear my throat, twice

***

Finally, he looks up

It’s love at first sight

Well -

It is for me

***

love poems
3

About the Creator

Kimberly Hinds

A New Zealand-based freelance writer living in Auckland, New Zealand, and author of many emails. Graduate of Massey University Journalism School, and lover of empty calories and overpriced oriental cats.

Blogs at www.mundane2friday.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.