Poets logo

The Trees, The Sky, & Me

We were both birds on solid ground

By R.C. TaylorPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Trees, The Sky, & Me
Photo by Boris Smokrovic on Unsplash

We were both birds

On solid ground,

With dreams of the vast sky above us,

But I longed to do more than dream,

I wanted to fly,

To seize the sun and stars and all that we could,

But you were afraid--

Even if you never admitted it out loud--

So I stayed on the ground with you,

Built a nest on uncomfortable dirt and rock instead of protective branch,

And comforted myself that all you needed

Was love and understanding.

So when years later the time came

When I finally outstretched my wings

And asked you to come with me,

To taste the freedom of the sky for ourselves,

You told me yes

And it was the sweetest song I had ever heard,

Fruit of our love and patience.

But when the time came to ride the current

And be swept upwards and leave the dirt behind,

You drew your wings close to your body,

and told me that you had realized that the ground

Was all you ever knew

So why would you leave.

And I almost let that loss of you

Clip my own wings.

But blinded with tears,

I still flew.

I flew.

And I flew on without you

And left you behind

Amongst the twigs and the dirt and the bugs

That you loved more than the trees, the sky, and me.

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

I write to invoke, to process, to honor, to resurrect, and—sometimes—to grieve but, above all, I write to be free.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. life, nostalgia, and other affairs of the heart).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.