Poets logo

The Transfiguration of my Heart

A poem

By Jason N Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Transfiguration of my Heart
Photo by Foto Pettine on Unsplash

Living life so carelessly

Not giving thought to what’s to come

Never caring, I was always so daring

Not realizing what I’ve become

Loved ones trying to put me on the right path

But what’s really right or wrong?

Figuring that out just seems like hard math

Any hope for a good life I flushed down the drain

Heavy clouds above my head with constant rain

I would still smile to hide the pain

But inside I was going insane

Looking up to the skies above

I prayed to God to fill my emptiness with love

I felt a hand on my shoulder

Letting me know to release my boulder

Continuing on, my drunkness for lust was cut and I became sober

Up the way, I stumbled upon

A beautiful maiden with a white dress on

I’ve never truly loved someone before

This feeling was something I couldn’t ignore

I put my trust issues aside to obtain more

I completely let her inside my door

She loved me even with the roaring waves of emotion that crashed the shore

Time went on and I knew what had to be done

Ask her to be my wife under the sun

We said “I do” and life began

I’m happy with the man that I am

To our surprise, a bundle of joy was on the way

I had a big bright smile on my face, happiness took over and I didn’t know what to say

The day is here and without haste

Tears of joy started falling down my face

As I gave my little one a warm embrace

In the past, I never gave thought to the future

I’m incredibly happy I let God cover up my wounds by giving me a wife who became the suture

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jason N

I am a husband, father, and entrepreneur. I write on Medium as well along with my wife (Marie&Jason). Looking to share earning opportunities as well as poetry, and my real life explorations. Also, some beneficial and knowledgeable posts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.